top of page

Perfume Layers: Top, Middle and Base Notes

Every perfume is created in a way that makes it unique and different from any other scent. It comes with hundreds of ingredients that come together in perfect harmony in what is called a #fragrancepyramid. The perfume, once sprayed, unveils its little scented treasures in three stages called notes. The three notes are layered in a way that reveal the scent's personality, character, and ethos.

Top Notes

The first time you encounter a perfume, whether you are attracted by the designer's aesthetic or the presentation, you have to be charmed to like it. Spritz it in the air or on a strip and let the first #topnotes seduce you. They tend to be volatile, light, fresh and immediately recognizable. Once the top notes hit your nose, you can usually form an opinion about the perfume, decide if you like it, love it or not into it. The notes usually last for about 10 minutes before fading. They create a transition to middle notes and are made of citrus (lemon, orange zest, bergamot,...), light fruits (grapefruits, berries,...) and herbs (clary sage, lavender,...). Channel N0 5 top notes for example, include Neroli, bergamot, ylang ylang, amalfi lemon and aldehydes.

Spritz it in the air or on a strip and let the first top notes seduce you. They tend to be volatile, light, fresh and immediately recognizable.

Middle or Heart Notes

If you were not immediately charmed by the top notes, the middle notes might change your mind. They appears after the top notes evaporate. They are considered the heart of the perfume and have a balancing effect. The #middlenotes have a strong influence on the upcoming base notes and last between 30 to 60 minutes. The heart notes are a well-rounded combination of floral or fruity tones that might be infused with spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, geranium, coriander or jasmine. Channel No 5 middle notes include iris, jasmine, orris root, rose and lily-of-the-valley.

Base Notes

The bases notes are the most enduring. Their mission is to slow down the the evaporation of the other two notes. Once you reach this stage of the perfume, you can definitely tell whether or not it can become part of your journey. The scent can be intense, making a lasting impression on you and usually last more than six hours. Some of the scents include cedar wood, sandal wood, vanilla, amber, patchouli, oak moss and musk. These #basenotes make Channel No 5 the renown fragrance it is today with vetiver, musk, sandalwood, patchouli, oak moss, amber, vanilla and civetta.

A really good scent can not be achieved without the different layers of top, middle, and base notes.

Photography and graph by ZanouNelie


bottom of page